PDA

View Full Version : Some old coins a some old relics...

Bucknut
10-20-2015, 12:38 PM
I have not been able to detect as much the past few weeks but here are my finds. I managed a little bit of everything...a few mercs, a couple old nickels and a nice indian from 1894.

The relics I got last night. A brass buckle, a WW1 general service button (I think any ways) and a heel plate with a heart in it.

Now I have a question...is the heel plate possibly from a soldier during the civil war? or is it the calling card from a "working" girl back in the day? I did a little research on it and there seems to be info claiming that both are possibilities. I am no expert on this sort of thing...civil war or prostitutes...so I am hoping you guys can share some info that you know about it with me.

MangoAve
10-20-2015, 02:09 PM
Nice IH and button. Yes the button is WWI - WWII era. Got lucky with the buff and the V.

:beatdeadhorse: on the heel plate. You did get a nice find... but about the explanation. There's always conflicting info on anything. It is a nice story, tho, even if folklore. I did see one site even state the soldiers didn't wear the heart pattern because they wouldn't want to be able to be tracked. Ummmm.... so a star pattern or a clover pattern or even the hex pattern can't be tracked while the heart style can?? :crazy: Supposedly one seller saying the heart pattern is rare. Well, I think the majority I have seen posted are the heart. Second is the generic hex, then the star and clover being least posted about. There was something that I would have an easier time believing is that the heart is actually just a single leaf of the clover. The possibility of the patterns being used to signify info to other soldiers... maybe, but unlikely. I'd prob believe the best answer is these were all boot plate designs and whomever used what they want. I've found these at cellar holes; Not everyone was enlisted.

Bucknut
10-20-2015, 02:24 PM